Krzysztof Jurgiel

Krzysztof Jurgiel
Krzysztof Jurgiel

Minister of agriculture and rural development


Born on November 18, 1953 in the village of Ogrodniki nearby Białystok. Senator of the Republic of Poland in 2003 - 2005. Deputy to the Sejm of the  III, IV, V, VI, VII, and VIII term.

Graduate of the Warsaw University of Technology, where he received a master's degree in land surveying. He completed postgraduate studies in the valuation of a listed property. He started his professional career in 1978 as a general contractor at the District Enterprise of Geodesy and Cartography Białystok. In 1981 - 1984 he was employed in the Bialystok Construction Conglomerate as a construction site inspector. In 1984 he started working at the Provincial Office in Białystok. In 1988 he established the Enterprise of Geodesy and Cartographic Services and headed it until 1994.

In 1980 he was one of the founders of the “Solidarność" in OPGK Bialystok (District Enterprise of Geodesy and Cartography), and in 2002-2006 he was a delegate to WZD (Delegates General Assembly). One of the founders of the Center Alliance (Porozumienie Centrum) in Bialystok. In 1994-1998 he was the Vice President and then the President of Bialystok.

In the period from November 2005 until May 2006 he was Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development.

As a deputy of the seventh term, he was the chairman of the Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development.

In the Law and Justice party, he is a member of the Political Committee and Political Council.

He is an active social activist. Since 1970 until present, he has been active in the Association of Popular Sports Teams as a Member of the Municipal Council of LZS in Dobrzyniewo Duże. He was an active football player.

Since 1995 he has been a member of the Association of Catholic Families of the Archdiocese of Białystok, and since 2003 he has been the chairman of the Podlasie Provincial School Sports Association. He is the Chairman of the St. Isidore the Ploughman Association in Białystok.

The website of Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development