New ministers in Mateusz Morawiecki’s government

President Andrzej Duda appointed new ministers at the request of the Prime Minister. The health service will be supervised by Adam Niedzielski, and foreign affairs by Zbigniew Rau. The ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki.

Photo: Grzegorz Jakubowski / KPRP

The new head of diplomacy will replace Jacek Czaputowicz in this position. Adam Niedzielski will replace the head of the health department, Łukasz Szumowski.

I would like to thank the outgoing ministers, Professor Szumowski and Professor Czaputowicz, and two ministers who will take over their departments from the formal side for taking on this extremely difficult and important role of a minister said Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki.

Minister of Health, doctor of economics Adam Niedzielski

A graduate of the SGH Warsaw School of Economics in two faculties: economics and quantitative methods and information systems. An expert in public management. In 2003, he received a doctorate in economics from the Institute of Economic Sciences of the Polish Academy of Sciences.

He started his professional career in the Ministry of Finance; he also worked in the Supreme Audit Office, the Ministry of Justice and the Social Insurance Institution (ZUS). From 23 November 2016, he was the General Director of the Ministry of Finance.

From 12 July 2018, Adam Niedzielski was the Deputy President of the National Health Fund for Operational Affairs, and from 18 July 2019 – the acting President of the National Health Fund.

By decision of the Minister of Health of 10 October 2019, he was appointed president of the National Health Fund.

On 26 August 2020, he was appointed Minister of Health.

Minister of Foreign Affairs prof. dr hab. Zbigniew Rau

Polish lawyer, academic lecturer, professor of legal sciences, senator of the 6th term, governor of the Lodz Voivodeship in 2015-2019, deputy to the Sejm of the 9th term.

In 1977, he graduated from the Faculty of Law and Administration of the University of Lodz. He received the degree of doctor of law in 1982. In 1996, he obtained his post-doctoral degree and received the title of professor in 2005.  He is the head of the Department of Political and Legal Doctrines and the Alexis de Tocqueville Centre for Political and Legal Thought at the University of Lodz.

He was a long-term lecturer and scholarship holder of German, Dutch, British, American and Australian universities, i.a.: Universität Trier, Universität Gießen, International Law School, University of Limburg (Maastricht), Trinity College, Cambridge University (Cambridge), Department of Government, University of Texas at Austin, Social Philosophy and Policy Center, Bowling Green State University (Bowling Green), Hoover Institution, Stanford University (Stanford), Murphy Institute of Political Economy, Tulane University (New Orleans), Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University (Canberra).

In 1980, he joined the Self-Governing Trade Union “Solidarity” (NSZZ "Solidarność"), where he was an expert on the verification of elections to the Inter-company Founding Committee of NSZZ "Solidarność" of the Lodz region.

From 2005 to 2007, as a senator, he was a member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe. During his term as an MP from November 2019 to August 2020, he was the Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Chairman of the Polish delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and Chairman of the Polish-British Parliamentary Group.

See also