Government has recognised the independence of Kosovo

The Council of Ministers has taken a resolution on the recognition of the Republic of Kosovo. Polish Minister of Foreign Affairs Radosław Sikorski said Poland expected good relations with the new state. “We hope that Kosovo would observe the democratic procedures and respect the rights of national minorities” the minister said.

According to Radosław Sikorski, the decision of the Polish government will be a milestone both for Serbia and for Kosovo on their road to the European Union structures. The head of Polish diplomacy stressed that the independence of the new Balkan state could not be treated as a precedent for other separatist tendencies.

Recognising the independence of Kosovo the government expressed its solidarity with other states of the European Union and with the international community.


On 17 February 2008, the National Assembly of Kosovo adopted a declaration of independence according to which the new state was to be a democratic, secular and multi-ethnic republic guaranteeing the observance of human rights and basic civic freedoms. The Republic of Kosovo has 2.1 million citizens. It is chiefly inhabited by Albanians.

See also