First ever Polish-British intergovernmental consultations

During the Monday (28 November) visit to the United Kingdom, Prime Minister Beata Szydło will meet with the British Prime Minister Theresa May at the first Polish-British intergovernmental consultations. The heads of the two governments will hold talks on a range of topics, including bilateral cooperation, international security and the situation of Poles living in the UK.

Premier Beata Szydło i premier Theresa May - uścisk dłoni, na tle flag Polski, Wielkiej Brytanii i Unii Europejskiej
Photo: Archive / Chancellery of the Prime Minister

British Prime Minister Theresa May will welcome the Polish Prime Minister at the airport and then they will together pay tribute to the heroes from the legendary No. 303 Polish Fighter Squadron. The subsequent point on the agenda of Beata Szydło’s visit will be the talks at the residence and office of the British Prime Minister at 10 Downing Street. At the same time, the ministers will hold talks at Lancaster House. The intergovernmental consultations will be summed up at a plenary session chaired by both Prime Ministers. The session will be attended by all ministers of the Polish government who go to London and by their British partners. The topics discussed will include economic issues, matters concerning Poles living in the United Kingdom and international security.

Prime Minister Beata Szydło will also meet with representatives of Poles living in the United Kingdom.

Important meeting

The consultations are an important event in the history of bilateral relations. This is the first such meeting of government delegations. Moreover, intergovernmental consultations are a formula that is very seldom used by the British. Until now they have only used it in relations with France.

During her visit to London, Prime Minister Beata Szydło will be accompanied by the representatives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of National Defence, Ministry of Economic Development, Ministry of the Interior and Administration, Ministry of Science and Higher Education and Ministry of Family, Labour and Social Policy

See also